lichess.org
Donate

Fischer vs Larsen: The Rivalry

Great historical account. The 6-0 match was epic. Neither Larsen, nor Taimanov recovered mentally from their 6-0 beatings.

Great historical account. The 6-0 match was epic. Neither Larsen, nor Taimanov recovered mentally from their 6-0 beatings.

Great post, sounds like Larsen was a sore loser

Great post, sounds like Larsen was a sore loser

Wow big effort bro... Very intertaning

Wow big effort bro... Very intertaning

Why didn’t they play somewhere with mild summers? Playing at that temperature and altitude does sound awful.

Why didn’t they play somewhere with mild summers? Playing at that temperature and altitude does sound awful.

That was a great read about chess history! Look at the two photos showing Fischer analyzing with Larsen after the 0-6 match. Fischer looks exhausted. It must have been hard work for him. These photos illustrate just how much work rests on the shoulders of world champions.

Fischer's quotes paint a picture of him that I've had for quite some time. While he was certainly an ambitious chess player, he was also a quite sensitive person outside of the game. I remember a video of him analyzing with Spassky on the World Championship final banquet. I had the impression that Fischer was very aware of what Spassky would now face in the Soviet Union, and that he somewhat awkwardly tried to console him. I believe that Fischer wasn't just a one-dimensional genius, but rather quite broadly intelligent. However, he did not train these other aspects of him well. A good new task for him, after winning the world championship, would probably have been to get a doctor title in psychology. Because he often sounded not so wise later in his life.

Of course, losing a match 0-6 is a humbling experience, but I have to say that Larsen doesn't strike me as particularly objective. He shares that trait with Kramnik. I suspect that was the main reason for his 0-6 defeat. I think he was afraid of Fischer but wasn't willing to admit it, even though every time he admitted it, it would have improved his chances. Because telling the truth ultimately takes less energy than creating a wishful image of oneself.

That was a great read about chess history! Look at the two photos showing Fischer analyzing with Larsen after the 0-6 match. Fischer looks exhausted. It must have been hard work for him. These photos illustrate just how much work rests on the shoulders of world champions. Fischer's quotes paint a picture of him that I've had for quite some time. While he was certainly an ambitious chess player, he was also a quite sensitive person outside of the game. I remember a video of him analyzing with Spassky on the World Championship final banquet. I had the impression that Fischer was very aware of what Spassky would now face in the Soviet Union, and that he somewhat awkwardly tried to console him. I believe that Fischer wasn't just a one-dimensional genius, but rather quite broadly intelligent. However, he did not train these other aspects of him well. A good new task for him, after winning the world championship, would probably have been to get a doctor title in psychology. Because he often sounded not so wise later in his life. Of course, losing a match 0-6 is a humbling experience, but I have to say that Larsen doesn't strike me as particularly objective. He shares that trait with Kramnik. I suspect that was the main reason for his 0-6 defeat. I think he was afraid of Fischer but wasn't willing to admit it, even though every time he admitted it, it would have improved his chances. Because telling the truth ultimately takes less energy than creating a wishful image of oneself.

I am new to chess but, I really like this blog! thanks for sharing it!
Oh, and - Warmest wishes from the (smaller country) Sweden, to everyone! (^^)/

I am new to chess but, I really like this blog! thanks for sharing it! Oh, and - Warmest wishes from the (smaller country) Sweden, to everyone! \(^^)/

@ChillbroSwaggins said ^

Why didn’t they play somewhere with mild summers? Playing at that temperature and altitude does sound awful.

didnt think about that!

@ChillbroSwaggins said [^](/forum/redirect/post/grpeHgTB) > Why didn’t they play somewhere with mild summers? Playing at that temperature and altitude does sound awful. didnt think about that!